The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División,[a] commonly known simply as La Liga[b] and officially as LaLiga Santander for sponsorship reasons, stylized as LaLiga, is the men’s top professional football division of the Spanish football league system. Administered by the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional, is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest-placed teams at the end of each season relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams and a play-off winner in that division.

Top scorers

Leo Messi is the top scorer in Laliga history.


Rank Player Club(s) Years active Goals Apps Ratio
1 Argentina Lionel Messi Barcelona 2004– 474 520 0.91
2 Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid 2009–2018 311 292 1.07
3 Spain Telmo Zarra Athletic Bilbao 1940–1955 251 278 0.9
4 Mexico Hugo Sánchez Atlético MadridReal MadridRayo Vallecano 1981–1994 234 347 0.67
5 Spain Raúl Real Madrid 1994–2010 228 550 0.41
6 Argentina Alfredo Di Stéfano Real MadridEspanyol 1953–1966 227 329 0.69
7 Spain César Rodríguez GranadaBarcelonaCultural LeonesaElche 1939–1955 223 353 0.63
8 Spain Quini Sporting GijónBarcelona 1970–1987 219 448 0.49
9 Spain Pahiño Celta VigoReal MadridDeportivo La Coruña 1943–1956 210 278 0.76
10 Spain Edmundo Suárez ValenciaAlcoyano 1939–1950 195 231 0.84


Here is the La Liga’s trophy. A total of 62 teams have competed in La Liga since its inception. Nine teams have been crowned champions, with Real Madrid winning the title a record 34 times and Barcelona 26 times. During the 1940s Valencia, Atlético Madrid and Barcelona emerged as the strongest clubs, winning several titles. Real Madrid and Barcelona dominated the championship in the 1950s, each winning four La Liga titles during the decade. During the 1960s and 1970s Real Madrid dominated La Liga, winning 14 titles, with Atlético Madrid winning four.

The La Liga trophy