The Premier League, often referred to exonymously as the English Premier League or the EPL (legal name: The Football Association Premier League Limited), is the top level of the English football league system. Contested by 20 clubs, it operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the English Football League (EFL). Seasons run from August to May with each team playing 38 matches (playing all 19 other teams both home and away). Most games are played on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

Top scorers

Alan Shearer is the top scorer in Premier League history.


Rank Player Years Goals Apps Ratio
1 England Alan Shearer 1992–2006 260 441 0.59
2 England Wayne Rooney 2002–2018 208 491 0.42
3 England Andy Cole 1992–2008 187 414 0.45
4 Argentina Sergio Agüero 2011–2021 184 275 0.67
5 England Frank Lampard 1995–2015 177 609 0.29
6 France Thierry Henry 1999–2007
175 258 0.68
7 England Harry Kane 2012– 166 245 0.68
8 England Robbie Fowler 1993–2009 163 379 0.43
9 England Jermain Defoe 2001–2003
162 496 0.33
10 England Michael Owen 1996–2004
150 326 0.46


The Premier League maintains two trophies—the genuine trophy (held by the reigning champions) and a spare replica. Two trophies are held for the purpose of making the award within minutes of the title being secured, in the event that on the final day of the season two clubs are still within reach of winning the League. In the rare event that more than two clubs are vying for the title on the final day of the season, a replica won by a previous club is used.

The current Premier League trophy was created by Royal Jewellers Asprey of London. It consists of a trophy with a golden crown and a malachite plinth base. The plinth weighs 33 pounds (15 kg) and the trophy weighs 22 pounds (10.0 kg). The trophy and plinth are 76 cm (30 in) tall, 43 cm (17 in) wide and 25 cm (9.8 in) deep.

The Premier League trophy


The gold Premier League trophy awarded to Arsenal for winning the 2003–04 title without defeat