Serie A, also called Serie A TIM due to sponsorship by TIM, is a professional league competition for football clubs located at the top of the Italian football league system and the winner is awarded the Scudetto and the Coppa Campioni d’Italia. It has been operating as a round-robin tournament for over ninety years since the 1929–30 season. It had been organized by the Direttorio Divisioni Superiori until 1943 and the Lega Calcio until 2010, when the Lega Serie A was created for the 2010–11 season. Serie A is regarded as one of the best football leagues in the world and it is often depicted as the most tactical and defensively sound national league.


Silvio Piola is the top scorer in Serie A history.


Rank Player Club(s) Years active Goals Apps Ratio
1 Italy Silvio Piola Pro VercelliLazioJuventusNovara 1929–1943
274 537 0.51
2 Italy Francesco Totti Roma 1992–2017 250 619 0.4
3 Sweden Gunnar Nordahl MilanRoma 1949–1958 225 291 0.77
4 Italy Giuseppe Meazza InternazionaleMilanJuventus 1929–1943
216 367 0.59
Brazil Italy José Altafini MilanNapoliJuventus 1958–1976 216 459 0.47
6 Italy Antonio Di Natale EmpoliUdinese 2002–2016 209 445 0.47
7 Italy Roberto Baggio FiorentinaJuventusMilanBolognaInternazionaleBrescia 1985–2004 205 452 0.45
8 Sweden Kurt Hamrin JuventusPadovaFiorentinaMilanNapoli 1956–1971 190 400 0.48
9 Italy Giuseppe Signori FoggiaLazioSampdoriaBologna 1991–2004 188 344 0.55
Italy Alessandro Del Piero Juventus 1993–2006
188 478 0.39
Italy Alberto Gilardino PiacenzaHellas VeronaParmaMilanFiorentinaGenoaBologna 1999–2017 188 502 0.37


Here is the Serie A trophy. The Italian football champions (Italian: Campione d’Italia di calcio, plural: Campioni) are the annual winners of Serie A, Italy’s premier football league competition. The title has been contested since 1898 in varying forms of competition. Internazionale are the current champions, while Juventus have won a record 36 titles. The first time the Scudetto (Italian: scudetto, “little shield”, plural: scudetti) was used was in 1924 when Genoa won its 9th championship title and decided to add a little shield to their shirt as to reward and celebrate themselves as champions.

The Serie A trophy